









## TELANGANA STATE BIODIVERSITY BOARD

Exchange Visit by the Chairmen and Secretaries (14 members) of selected BMCs of Telangana

On 20-10-2016 and 21-10-2016 At

# **TSBDB** office, Hyderabad and Deccan Development Society at Pastapur Village, Zaheerabad Mandal, Medak District, Telangana

### **Background**

The NBA and Telangana State Biodiversity Board under UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS project jointly conducted a awareness meeting and comprehensive Exchange visits at DDS, Pastapur Village, Zaheerabad Mandal, Medak District, Telangana to the Chairmen and Secretaries (14 members) of selected BMCs of Telangana State for learning the best practices of conservation of biological resources through co-cultivation of local seed varieties with low irrigation and management practices and also shown the importance of local seed varieties along with the preservation through traditional practices etc.

Following are the major events carried out during the visits.

#### Awareness meeting at TSBDB Office

The team of Chairmen and Secretaries visited the Telangana State Biodiversity Board office. Mr. G. Sailu, SPC, UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS Project, welcomed the gathering and introduced one and all. Then the discussions were begun on creating the awareness on the BD-Act, State Biodiversity Rules, BMC activities to be taken, PBR Preparation and foremost, conservation of local biodiversity. The gathering has been actively involved in the discussion by sharing their views on previous verities of seeds and the healthy way of living.

Then Mr Deepak R, WWF-India, Hyderabad gave brief presentation on the impact of human activities and lagging awareness on the nature changes the Biodiversity. The presentation was gone so interactive with participants through various videos reflecting the theme of the talk.

Then, Mr. Surender and Mr Laxman form Prof. Jaya Shankar Telangana State Agricultural University, gave a brief note on the new improvements in farming without disturbing the biodiversity and they also gave a brief note on the new technologies in the farming community.

The meeting was concluded by giving vote of thanks by the visitors.













#### Visit to DDS, Pastapur Village, Zaheerabad Mandal, Medak District

The main objective of this exchange visit is to create awareness among the BMC members on the importance of the local seed preservation and also cultivation. This objective is fulfilled by visiting the DDS organization and the field visit maintained by the trained people by them.

The Deccan Development Society, giving training to the people in organic farming and the society will help the farmers in trading them in better and organized way which will also reflect in their profits. One of the person this organization, Mrs Anjamma maintain a seed bank with almost 180 types of local seed verities with the help of her fellow farmers. She got an Award from the President for her considerable work of conserving the Biodiversity. Another from this organization Mrs. Laxmi, a farmer of 2 acre land and a practitioner of co-cultivation got a profit of 2 lacks as though there was little rain in previous year.

The main them of the co-cultivation practice is, 9-10 local verity seed of millets will be mixed together in equal ratio and sown after the first rain of the season. This will ensure them that they will be having at least 4-6 types of harvests in due course of the season. If one of the crop is not giving the expected yield, other crop will replace the loss. The dried leaves and the farmyard manure will enrich the soil with nutrients. In turn this kind of practice will reduce the input cost for farming.

The visit and interaction with BMC members of these villages have immensely benefited the visitors to gain knowledge on relevant issues.

## Photo Gallery















The List of BMC Chairpersons and Secretaries visited:

S.No	Name of the Visitor	Designation	BMC Name	District
1.	Sujatha	Chairperson	Naguram BMC,	Karimnagar
2.	Ratnakar Rao	Member	Jammikunta Mandal	
3.	Sagar Rao	Chairperson	Yeradapalli BMC,	Karimnagar
4.	Goud	Member	Shankarapatnam Mandal	
5.	K.Madhusudhana Reddy	Chairperson	Rajaram BMC,	Khammam
6.	K.Sai Reddy	Member	Thirumalaya Palem Mandal	
7.	T Jyothi	Chairperson	Ammapalem BMC,	Khammam
8.	T Jayapal	Member	Konijerla Mandal	
9.	N Apparao	Member	Thimminenipalem BMC, Chinthakani Mandal,	Khammam
10.	K Srinivas	Member	Alear BMC, Nellikuduru	Warangal
		Secretary	Mandal	_
11.	P Madhu	Member		
12.	V Karnakar	Member	Mogilicherala BMC,	Warangal
		Secretary	Kuravi Mandal	
13.	N Lachaiah	Member		
14.	M D Jakira Begam	Chairperson	Kukatlapalli	Medak
			Kowdipalle	
15.	Anjaneyulu	Chairperson	Settipalle kalan BMC,	Medak
16.	Prabhu Reddy	Member	Yeldhurthi Mandal	
17.	G. Surender	SRF	PJSTSAU	Hyderabad
18.	Laxman	SRF	PJSTSAU	Hyderabad
19.	R. Prasad Babu	Scientific/ Tech.	TSBDB	Hyderabad
		Asst		
20.	K. Lavanya	Fin. Assistant	TSBDB	Hyderabad
21.	G. Sateesh Kumar	Comp. Assistant	TSBDB	Hyderabad
22.	Venkat	DBC-	TSBDB	Hyderabad
		Sangareddy		